Yanis Varoufakis

On Monday 6th December, I gave the keynote speech at a conference near Brisbane, Queensland (Australia) on the theme of Risk Management after the crisis. I was warned that the large audience of  professionals (corporate lawyers, chartered accountants, risk managers etc. – people whose jobs I do not really understand) were tough cookies; that nothing could provoke them easily to reconsider their entrenched views. Thus, I rose to speak ready to be met by stone-faced people looking at me like an audacious fool. To my great surprise, my narrative on the Crisis in general, and on its European manifestation in particular, went down very, very well. Some asked to have the text of my speech. So I post it below. Before you read it, it helps to note that the question put to me by the organisers was: Did greed lead us to the Crisis?

View original post 2,610 more words

